Indoor Veggie Starts 2024

This winter I decided to rethink my seed organization. After three-four years of trying different methods, I think (?) I have an improved system…rolling tool boxes. These boxes (made by Ridgid) seal and stack nicely, and unlike other brands, these don’t have a clear cover, which protects the seeds from harmful light exposure. Throw in a couple 200g silica packets for moisture control, and this should be a whole lot of alright. We’ll see. Ideally I should select out a small portion to put into a freezer for added security and longevity, which is in the plans.

The added benefit of this set up is that it is portable. I hope to do more seed exchange events and having my kit already mobile is a huge help in maintaining organization. Previously, I would selected things out from the larger collection (for planting or to bring to a seed event) and I never seem to get everything back in place afterward, just causing more chaos when looking for something later.

For more on the best practices for seed saving, check out the Learning section of the Community Seed Network. They host a wealth of knowledge surrounding seed saving, seed libraries, building communities around seed saving. Check them out!

SEED STARTS SETUP

In my previous gardening post I talked about some of the varieties that I am excited to grow this season, but how and where does it all start?

For me, seed starting begins in March, roughly around St. Patrick’s Day. Some things could be started sooner, such as perennials, and annuals that are planted outside earlier than all the rest, or the stuff that just takes soooooo long to germinate and grow. But mid to late March is the primary target.

My set up is a 48″ x 72″ x 18″ metal rack from the hardware store, and a bunch of LED daylight shop lights from Ocean State Job Lot, set to a timer that gives about 12-14 hours of light to the seedlings. During the germination stage I also use heating mats under the seed trays for warmer weather starts like peppers, tomatoes, and eggplant.

POTS

I’ve tried various methods for my seedlings, soil blocks, solo cups, recycled containers, and prefab seedling pots …and I’m still not 100% sure what method I like best. Generally I try not to overly baby the seedings as this is the first step toward locally adapting seeds-grown-elsewhere to my local conditions, and that includes allowing the environmental pressures of the lighting, soil, and attention that I can provide to help weed out the genetics that don’t fare well under less-than-ideal conditions. This year, I have less time to devote to the process than in the previous three seasons, so I will use the pots that I have and keep it simple.

SOIL

I’ve tried mixing my own soil mixes, and I just found it generally to be a hassle. It may be fine for others, but I just get a seed starter mix, and then graduate to potting soil from the hardware store. Especially if you’re just starting out, keep it simple. And so that you don’t need to buy as much of the starting mix, you can put a bunch of seeds into a single, low volume pot just to get things off the ground, then pot up to larger individual containers with potting soil.

VOLUNTEERS!

One thing I’ve been paying attention to over the last two seasons have been volunteers, or things that come up on their own after seeds have been dropped the previous season. Annual veggie seeds don’t always germinate after going through the winter, but some do.

What has me most excited are some of the nightshades, particularly: Tegucigalpa paste tomato, Chitelpin Wild Chili, and the ‘Badenjan Sesame’ Green Eggplant. I’ve been saving seeds from these plants in hopes of having some varieties that I won’t have to start inside every year, using up time, energy, lighting, pots, and soil.

This past season I’m hoping I left enough fruits on the ground to have another generation make the attempt!

Some wonderful resources for seeds:

At this point, I save most of my seeds from year to year, but I still like to try new varieties, or get repeats of seeds that I’ve already been growing, to add some different genetics to what I’ve been saving.

The Experimental Farm Network
True Love Seeds
The Roughwood Collection
Southern Exposure Seed Exchange
The Seedsaver’s Exchange
Hudson Valley Seed Company
Going To Seed
Open Source Seed Initiative
Fredco Seeds

*And if you would like any seeds from me, I usually have plenty to share. Please let me know what you’re looking for, and I’ll see what I have!


Posted

in

by

Comments

Leave a comment